Course Reviews

Overall Rating of All Courses

4.8
Rated 4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5 stars (based on 391 reviews)
Excellent86%
Very good12%
Average2%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

User Reviews

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
July 12, 2020
J Weaver

Wonderful learning!!

Rated 5 out of 5
July 12, 2020

I feel like the content is always balanced and unbiased and so very informative. I am amazed at even growing up in a nationwide fellowship church, How little I knew!!!

L Amendt

Lots of Very Important Important Speaking that Will Contain Some Unexpected Surprises!

Rated 5 out of 5
July 11, 2020

I had previously purchased and listened to all eight of these messages spoken by dear brother Bercot, but I am so very thankful for the fact that these eight messages were grouped together into one course here on The Historic Faith, encouraging me to listen to all eight of them again.
While listening to the messages included in this course, I made the happy discovery that included with each audio message is a Word document containing either an outline or a transcript of the message. Reading through the Word document after listening to each message was a wonderful way to reinforce the content of the message. In fact, by incorporating a slow reading through each of the associated documents, I was finally able to achieve something I never thought I would achieve – I scored 100% the first time around on all of the quizzes for this course. I had previously abandoned all hope of every achieving that milestone.
There are lots of rich details included in these eight messages, and anyone who has not heard these messages before will find themselves frequently challenged and surprised, which I see as a very good thing. Some of the real gems in these messages include:
1) A very clear, and Scripture-based, explanation of the statement that Jesus “descended into Hell” found in the ante-Nicene Apostles’ Creed.
2) Lots of surprises regarding “life after death” if you happen to hold to common view that Christians go right to heaven after they die.
3) The best, most balanced and most Scripture-based explanation that I have ever heard regarding the reference to the number 666 that appears in Revelation 13:18.
4) An explanation of the “Millennialism” held to by many in the Ante-Nicene church that differs greatly from the today’s prevailing Pre-Millennialism.
5) The best, most balanced and most Scripture-based explanation that I have ever heard concerning Paul’s words “all Israel will be saved” found in Romans 12:6.
6) Lots of shocking facts regarding the birth of the modern nation of Israel, including some real surprises regarding the views of many Orthodox Jews toward the modern nation of Israel.
Scattered throughout these eight messages are many exhortations to remain faithful to Kingdom Christianity, and to be careful to not be led astray after fanciful speculations, novel theology, and wild claims unknown to our Lord Jesus Christ, His holy apostles and His early disciples.
This course is highly recommended!

C Hood

No Title

Rated 4 out of 5
July 10, 2020
A Ressler

True History

Rated 5 out of 5
July 10, 2020

If you want accurate history concerning Kingdom Christians for homeschooling, this is an excellent resource

H Schneider

American Revolution and Constitution

Rated 5 out of 5
July 7, 2020

This course has excellent background on Luther, Calvin, and the Puritans to give insight into how religious beliefs had an influence leading up to and on the revolution. In addition it also gives an understanding of the beliefs of the main men who were involved in writing the Constitution.

E Heatwole

Lots of Very Important Important Speaking Regarding Putting All of Jesus' Words into Practice!

Rated 5 out of 5
July 5, 2020

The basic points that are stressed again and again in these six messages are so crucially important – Jesus really meant every word He said! And He intends for His people to put His words into practice! He really does!
Receiving the words of Jesus as simple, innocent, little children is so crucially important, but so difficult in these days where the “hard sayings” of Jesus are either completely ignored, explained away, or dismissed through the use of hypothetical “what if” questions.
Cutting through all of the ways in which modern Christianity is unfaithful to the plain words of Jesus was very helpful to me. And I was very convicted by the fact that dear brother Dean kept coming back to the fact that we do not like Jesus’s plain words because they are hard words, hard to practice. But God’s will for a faithful people whom He can call His own and over whom He can write His own Name is frustrated whenever we accept reasons to not practice what Jesus has clearly taught.
I appreciated the diversity of styles in these messages – personal testimony from dear brother Dean and his dear wife, teaching sessions, and panel Q&A sessions. That kept things very interesting. I also appreciated the short video clips that were inserted into several of the teaching sessions.
This course was a much-needed reminder that the Bible is not primarily a book of theology, but a book to guide our day-by-day living. “The Bible is simple. It really is.” Amen, dear brother Dean. Amen and Amen!

C Hood

Intriguing!

Rated 5 out of 5
July 5, 2020

I definitely thought about aspects of 1 Corinthians 11 and wearing a head covering that I never thought about before!

C Barnhart

No Title

Rated 5 out of 5
July 4, 2020
J Weaver

A refreshing view

Rated 4 out of 5
July 3, 2020

It’s the most detailed and refreshing discourse I’ve ever heard on the subject..
I am BLESSED to be a woman!

S Yoder
Included with Subscription
10 Modules

Expository Teaching Using Early Christian Insights

A church is only as strong as its doctrine. Those who aspire to be teachers, whether for a church office, leadership position on a missionary team, small group, or family devotions, accept a weighty responsibility. Like any important skill, the ability to teach effectively and accurately must be developed. This course draws upon the Septuagint and early Christian sources to offer practical advice for Bible fanatics who want to communicate the truths of God's word (and especially Old Testament connections to Christ). In the last three modules of the course, Chuck Pike will demonstrate how he would teach through three challenging Bible passages.

See more...

Included with Subscription
Included with Subscription
9 Modules

The Holy Spirit

If you have more confusion than clarity concerning the Holy Spirit, you're not alone. Some groups have treated the Spirit as a license for casting off scriptural authority. Others have reacted by minimizing His role. The result is that teaching about the third person of the Trinity often leaves much to be desired. But Jesus did not intend for His followers to linger in confusion; rather, he wanted them to realize the Spirit's power in their lives. We hope that this course will begin to clarify the Holy Spirit for you: what Jesus taught the disciples about it, how the early Christians thought about it, and how the Holy Spirit is alive today.

See more...

Free Course
6 Modules

Christians & Politics: A Challenge From History

Join Dean Taylor for this three-part series as he looks at the landscape of Christian involvement in politics. Dean takes a historical approach to see what happens every time Christians get involved in the political arena. By diagnosing pervasive Constantinism found throughout history he will challenge you to rethink how the Church should engage the culture today.

Free Course

Included with Subscription
24 Modules

Anabaptist History

Anabaptist history is still quite relevant today, as many of the questions that shaped the Anabaptist movement during and after its inception persist in modern churches.

See more...

Included with Subscription
6 Modules

Prove It: Old Testament Proofs That Jesus is the Messiah

Despite the explosion of Christianity throughout the world during the first few centuries after Christ, few Christians today present and defend the story of Jesus using the tactics of the earliest evangelists. In this 5-part series, Chuck Pike demonstrates the time-tested relevance of scriptural proofs for the gospel.

See more...

Included with Subscription
Included with Subscription
8 Modules

Change of Allegiance

What is Calvinism's view of God? Where did it originate? Is it a Biblical system of thought? In this engaging new course, Finny Kuruvilla slices through the theological jargon and offers an accessible response to TULIP.

See more...

Included with Subscription
Included with Subscription
14 Modules

Historic Christianity vs Calvinism

What is Calvinism's view of God? Where did it originate? Is it a Biblical system of thought? In this engaging new course, Finny Kuruvilla slices through the theological jargon and offers an accessible response to TULIP.

See more...

Included with Subscription
Included with Subscription
Included with Subscription
Included with Subscription
Included with Subscription
13 Modules

Salvation: Mechanical or Relational?

Did the early Christians believe that we are saved by faith alone? Does obedience play a role in salvation? What the early Christians believed about salvation, works, free will, and more may surprise you.

See more...