Course Reviews

Overall Rating of All Courses

4.8
Rated 4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5 stars (based on 413 reviews)
Excellent86%
Very good12%
Average2%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

User Reviews

Learned about critical thinking

Rated 5 out of 5
September 8, 2021

More than anything this series taught me critical thinking. Instead of just believing dogma, actually know and understand both sides, then after weighing the evidence decide which is true.

Avatar for D Pate
D Pate

Thorough

Rated 5 out of 5
September 7, 2021

This was presented clearly and thoroughly. I look forward to the rest of the courses.

Avatar for R Littlefield
R Littlefield

Excellent Course

Rated 5 out of 5
September 6, 2021

Very interesting and alarming seeing what happened to with the groups in the past that started getting involved in politics. Clear warning for us today.

Avatar for W
W

Eye-opening!

Rated 5 out of 5
September 3, 2021

Eye-opening! This course has definitely opened my eyes to the many and subtle influences of Calvinism around us. Thanks

Avatar for K Martin
K Martin

Very interesting

Rated 5 out of 5
September 2, 2021

Interesting insights about the Holy Spirit.

Avatar for W
W

One of my favorite courses!

Rated 5 out of 5
August 30, 2021

I highly recommend this course! It changed the way I think about the Old Testament and makes me want to study it more.

Avatar for M Gerber
M Gerber

Historic Christianity vs. Calvinism

Rated 4 out of 5
August 22, 2021

I live in an area dominated by evangelical Calvinists. Often their point of view is brought to the foreground replete with Biblical allusions and and an assertiveness that disarms listeners. I wanted to affirm my own position that is opposition to Calvinism by studying under teachers who not only understand the nature of Calvinism, but are firm in the truth of Scripture allowing me to absorb talking points which I can then share when in conversation with a Calvinist who is defending his position.

Avatar for S Orange
S Orange

Dies it really matter?

Rated 5 out of 5
August 21, 2021

This course helped me understand that, yes, our view of God and his Word really does matter in our walk with Him. It helps me discern people’s view in what I read or hear.

Avatar for C Weiler
C Weiler

Good Intro

Rated 4 out of 5
August 18, 2021

A wonderful course to wet your lips on the ECF.

Avatar for J egli
J egli

Learning from a lifetime learner

Rated 5 out of 5
August 8, 2021

Thank you to Chuck for sharing his time and passion for learning. I find original thinking to be rare for me, so being able to quickly hear from anyone who has spent a long time putting lessons together is an ongoing blessing. I think Chuck would agree to quote Issac Newton: ” If I have seen further than others it is because I have stood on the shoulders of giants”.

Avatar for D Hurst
D Hurst
10 Modules

Expository Teaching Using Early Christian Insights

A church is only as strong as its doctrine. Those who aspire to be teachers, whether for a church office, leadership position on a missionary team, small group, or family devotions, accept a weighty responsibility. Like any important skill, the ability to teach effectively and accurately must be developed. This course draws upon the Septuagint and early Christian sources to offer practical advice for Bible fanatics who want to communicate the truths of God's word (and especially Old Testament connections to Christ). In the last three modules of the course, Chuck Pike will demonstrate how he would teach through three challenging Bible passages.

12 Modules

Matthew Commentary

9 Modules

The Holy Spirit

If you have more confusion than clarity concerning the Holy Spirit, you're not alone. Some groups have treated the Spirit as a license for casting off scriptural authority. Others have reacted by minimizing His role. The result is that teaching about the third person of the Trinity often leaves much to be desired. But Jesus did not intend for His followers to linger in confusion; rather, he wanted them to realize the Spirit's power in their lives. We hope that this course will begin to clarify the Holy Spirit for you: what Jesus taught the disciples about it, how the early Christians thought about it, and how the Holy Spirit is alive today.

6 Modules

Christians & Politics: A Challenge From History

Join Dean Taylor for this three-part series as he looks at the landscape of Christian involvement in politics. Dean takes a historical approach to see what happens every time Christians get involved in the political arena. By diagnosing pervasive Constantinism found throughout history he will challenge you to rethink how the Church should engage the culture today.

Free Course

24 Modules

Anabaptist History

Anabaptist history is still quite relevant today, as many of the questions that shaped the Anabaptist movement during and after its inception persist in modern churches.

6 Modules

Prove It: Old Testament Proofs That Jesus is the Messiah

Despite the explosion of Christianity throughout the world during the first few centuries after Christ, few Christians today present and defend the story of Jesus using the tactics of the earliest evangelists. In this 5-part series, Chuck Pike demonstrates the time-tested relevance of scriptural proofs for the gospel.

9 Modules

Future Things

8 Modules

Change of Allegiance

What is Calvinism's view of God? Where did it originate? Is it a Biblical system of thought? In this engaging new course, Finny Kuruvilla slices through the theological jargon and offers an accessible response to TULIP.

16 Modules

Myth of Christian America?

14 Modules

Historic Christianity vs Calvinism

What is Calvinism's view of God? Where did it originate? Is it a Biblical system of thought? In this engaging new course, Finny Kuruvilla slices through the theological jargon and offers an accessible response to TULIP.

12 Modules

Radical Christian Living

8 Modules

True Greatness

9 Modules

Bible and Early Church History

11 Modules

Church Life: AD 150

13 Modules

Salvation: Mechanical or Relational?

Did the early Christians believe that we are saved by faith alone? Does obedience play a role in salvation? What the early Christians believed about salvation, works, free will, and more may surprise you.